123

Meme, via:

1. Pick up the nearest book ( of at least 123 pages).
2. Open the book to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people.

I’ll bend the rules a bit. I have 5 books on my bedside table at the moment, all started. This is not my normal style, at least not since I was about 7 years old and vaguely hyperlexic. Anyway, here are the extracts from each; perhaps either of this blog’s readers can identify the books.

“Sometimes I see flashes of Rick’s temper in him or hear him say something sexist that I know comes right out of Rick’s mouth, and I get scared. I don’t want him looking at Rick and thinking that this is what a man is supposed to act like. I wish I could protect him from ending up like his father.”

If the fact that he himself had assured the scholar of the same thing several months ago was irritating to Apollo, his expression gave no hint of it. “Yes,” he said. “They’re quite authentic, I’m told.”

That left the hive in a near-comatose condition. It was a harsh and imprecise process. Sometimes, the skep had to be ripped open in order to collect the product.

Cohen testified that there was no “direct relationship” linking heart disease to dietary fats, and that he had been able to induce the same blood-vessel complications seen in heart disease merely by feeding sugar to his laboratory rats. Peter Cleave testified to his belief that the problem extended to all refined carbohydrates. “I don’t hold the cholesterol view for a moment,” Cleave said, noting that mankind had been eating saturated fats for hundreds of thousands of years.

Blair’s EU initiatives in this period, all of which were to evolve later in his premiership, came at four successive European Councils. By late 2001, Blair was in his fith year as a regular attendee of these two-day meetings for EU leaders. They occurred four times a year (June and December councils at the end of presidencies were more important) and he had grown weary of them.

I guess the last one’s a bit easy.

3 thoughts on “123

  1. ricardo

    The books, not in order:

    Blair Unbound; The Castle in the Forest; Good Calories, Bad Calories; Raising Cain: Protecting the Emotional Life of Boys; A Canticle for Liebowitz.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

