how to spend time

Yesterday I had one of those rare moments of efficiency. For some reason I woke up at 5am, rested, and managed to shovel the sidewalk after the near-record snowfall the night before, read the paper, finish a review of a paper for a journal, make pancakes, take the older miss varnson jr to school on her skis and walk in to work through the snow. All before 9.30am. And even the rest of the day was relatively productive. Ricardo was reminded of Eugene Fama’s use of time:

Region: I understand that you work every day, even holidays. Is that right?
Fama: Right.

Region: That’s an amazing work ethic.

Fama: Not really.

Region: I’ve also heard that you’re a dedicated athlete.

Fama: Right. I work every day, but I never work a full day. I get up at five o’clock in the morning and I work basically all morning until maybe one o’clock, two o’clock, and then I go play golf, I go windsurfing, I play tennis. And that’s it.       

This seems a very sensible way to work. If the junior varnsons would let me, I would make it a policy right away. 

2 thoughts on “how to spend time

  1. mrs varnson

    I like this policy, I like it a lot. How could we engineer it so that the junior varnsons would let you do this, so that you could go for a run, play tennis, pursue your interest in cooking and cleaning, etc?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

