mundell’s mixed grill (honoris causa)

Yesterday I attended the presentation ceremony with other connoisseurs of the mixed grill. It was quite boring (I admit to briefly falling asleep at one point, but I blame jetlag more than anything. Jetlag and the interminable parade of MSc graduates from the European Institute–the place is a factory…though I am happy to say I recovered my stamina during a three hour lunch at the Ivy. Don’t ask me how we got a table; it’s a mystery that will, I am almost certain, never be repeated.) Anyway, fellow British Columbia boy and (not fellow, unfortunately) Nobelist, Robert Mundell received an honorary doctorate at the ceremony. He was introduced in a very entertaining speech by Danny Quah. Here is Mundell at his intellectual peak.

Leave a Reply

